vsref
ChatAndBuild logoLovable logo

ChatAndBuild vs Lovable

Both AI app builders platforms, ChatAndBuild (Chat-to-app builder in 40+ languages, buildable from phone or laptop) and Lovable (AI full-stack app builder / "vibe coding" platform) go head to head here, priced from $20/mo and $21/mo respectively. Start with the bottom line, then the verified fact table and real production costs.

AI app builders platforms · 30 facts compared · all sourcedPricing verified Aug 31, 2026
Bottom line

Lovable wins every use case but one, taking six of seven with a single tie on Self-Hosted. The pattern is consistent: Lovable confirms agent mode and element-level editing for Beginners, publishes a full project code export and self-hosting for Developers, and grants 5 build credits a day up to 30 a month with rollover for Free Plans, against ChatAndBuild's 5 prompts for the life of the account. Lovable also ships a fuller managed backend for Internal Tools, an installable progressive web app for Mobile Apps where ChatAndBuild has none confirmed, and stronger element-level editing for UI Design. ChatAndBuild's only real counter is a cheaper $20/mo entry price and Figma import, not enough to flip any use case.

Reviewed by vsref Editorialfacts verified Aug 31, 2026Methodology →

Lovable is our pick for most teams. Start there, or weigh the use-case verdicts below.

If you sign up through links on this page, vsref may earn a commission; programs exist on both sides of most comparisons, and commissions never change verdicts. How we make money

Beginners
Lovable
WINNER
Developers
Lovable
WINNER
Free Plans
Lovable
WINNER
Internal Tools
Lovable
WINNER
Mobile Apps
Lovable
WINNER
Self-Hosted
Tie
TIE
UI Design
Lovable
WINNER

ChatAndBuild vs Lovable: head-to-head facts

FactChatAndBuild logoChatAndBuildLovable logoLovable
Metering unitflatAug 31creditsAug 31
What the free plan caps5 prompts for life (lifetimeAug 315 build credits/day up to 30/moAug 31
Cheapest paid plan (monthly)$20Aug 31$25Aug 31
Cheapest paid plan (annual)n/a$21Aug 31
Metering pool at entry plan10M tokens (displayed on all tiers)Aug 31100 credits/moAug 31
Published per-action unit costn/aPlan mode: 1 credit/message. Build mode illustrative exam...Aug 31
Output stackVite-based project scaffolding (React implied)Aug 31React + TypeScriptAug 31
Backend modelBYO Supabase (full integration)Aug 31Lovable Cloud (managed Supabase: PostgresAug 31
Code exportn/afull projectAug 31
GitHub syncbidirectionalAug 31bidirectionalAug 31
Self-host the outputn/a✓ YesAug 31
Keeps working if you stop payingn/aPublished apps remain accessible/viewable after cancellationAug 31
Mobile outputnone confirmedAug 31pwaAug 31
Agent mode (autonomous multi-step builds)n/a✓ YesAug 31
Figma / screenshot import✓ YesAug 31n/a
Element-level editingn/a✓ YesAug 31
Training-on-your-code policyUses aggregated/de-identified usage data to 'maintainAug 31From 2026-09-09Aug 31
Public APIn/a✗ NoAug 31
buyer-good  ·  not available  ·  gated or partial  ·  production cost ranges are our estimates, see our methodology.
Swipe → to compare both tools. Each value links its source and verified date.

ChatAndBuild vs Lovable pricing: true cost at 3 usage tiers

True monthly cost at 3 builder profiles: weekend prototyper (1 app, ~40 edit prompts/mo), active builder (2-3 apps, ~250 edit prompts/mo), small team (5 seats, continuous). Vendors with a published per-action cost resolve to a real $/mo; effort-based or unpublished metering renders honestly as "metered - conversion not published" rather than a guess. Open-source/local tools show license + BYO-API-key cost, never $0.
1 app, ~40 edit prompts/moWeekend prototyper
ChatAndBuildLOWEST$20/mo
Lovable$21/mo
A single side project, built once and lightly iterated on over a weekend or two a month.
2-3 apps, ~250 edit prompts/moActive builder
ChatAndBuildLOWEST$20/mo
Lovable$28.50-$141/mo
Several projects in flight at once with a steady daily edit cadence - the volume where a credit pool that looked generous at signup starts to run out.
5 seats, continuous buildsSmall team
ChatAndBuildLOWEST$30/mo
Lovable$50/mo
A 5-person team building continuously. Priced off each vendor's own published team/business plan, not a per-seat guess - pooled-credit workspaces (Lovable, Rocket) do not simply multiply the solo price by seat count, so a tool with no published flat team rate renders honestly as not published rather than an invented multiply.

ChatAndBuild vs Lovable: verdicts by use case

BeginnersLovable

Lovable's agent mode drives autonomous multi-step builds, and its element-level editing lets you click a piece of the app and fix it without touching code, capabilities ChatAndBuild does not publish. ChatAndBuild supports Figma and screenshot import, a feature Lovable does not list. ChatAndBuild's paid plan is $20 per month, and Lovable's paid plan is $25 per month. ChatAndBuild's free plan allows only 5 prompts for the life of the account. Lovable's free plan allows 5 build credits per day, up to 30 per month, a renewing pool giving a newcomer far more room to learn on. For someone who has never shipped an app, the tool that builds autonomously and lets you click to fix wins out.

DevelopersLovable

Lovable publishes a full project code export while ChatAndBuild does not state one. Both sync bidirectionally with GitHub. Lovable also confirms you can self-host the exported app, something ChatAndBuild does not address, and its backend gives you managed Postgres, auth, storage, edge functions, and realtime through Lovable Cloud, or your own Supabase project, against ChatAndBuild's bring your own Supabase only backend. Neither ships a general purpose public API for the finished app: Lovable states it has none, and ChatAndBuild does not address the question either. For engineers who want a confirmed code export and the freedom to self-host afterward, Lovable is the stronger choice.

Free PlansLovable

ChatAndBuild's free plan caps you at 5 prompts for the life of the account, not a monthly allowance, while Lovable grants 5 build credits per day up to 30 per month that renews every cycle, a much larger practical allowance for trying the product. Lovable's credits also roll over when unused, and Lovable states published apps remain accessible after cancellation, two points ChatAndBuild does not address. ChatAndBuild does undercut on the paid tier, $20/mo against Lovable's $25/mo, and neither offers a custom domain on its free plan. For someone deciding whether to trust a free plan before paying, Lovable's renewing credits and post-cancellation continuity outweigh ChatAndBuild's cheaper entry price.

Internal ToolsLovable

Lovable pairs a fuller managed backend, Postgres, auth, storage, edge functions, and realtime through Lovable Cloud, or a bring your own Supabase project, against ChatAndBuild's bring your own Supabase only setup. Lovable also states built in auth, which ChatAndBuild does not address, and offers SSO on its Enterprise plan while ChatAndBuild does not publish any SSO option. ChatAndBuild counters with a stated 40+ integrations, useful for reaching systems like Slack and Google Workspace, against no published aggregate count for Lovable. Both support collaboration for a team building the tool together. For ops and IT teams that need a real backend and access control, Lovable's published depth edges out ChatAndBuild's stronger integrations count.

Mobile AppsLovable

ChatAndBuild has no confirmed mobile output at all, while Lovable produces an installable progressive web app, a real if not native step ahead. Lovable's output stack is also documented in more detail, React and TypeScript, against ChatAndBuild's Vite based scaffolding where React is only implied. Lovable confirms you can self-host the exported app and states an agent mode that handles multi-step builds, neither of which ChatAndBuild addresses. Both run on a Supabase flavored backend, ChatAndBuild bring your own, Lovable managed or bring your own. For anyone targeting a phone rather than a desktop browser tab, Lovable is the only one of the two with a stated mobile output.

Self-HostedTie

Neither ChatAndBuild nor Lovable publishes whether the builder itself runs offline, what license covers it, or whether you can bring your own API keys instead of paying a subscription, the specifics that actually decide this use case. Both are hosted, subscription billed platforms: ChatAndBuild includes hosting on its plans and Lovable calls its own hosting generally free for smaller apps, confirming neither is built to run locally. The one related detail is that Lovable states you can self-host the finished app once it is built, while ChatAndBuild does not address that either. That answers a different question about the output, not about running the builder on your own machine or server.

UI DesignLovable

ChatAndBuild supports Figma and screenshot import, unlimited on paid tiers, while Lovable does not publish an import pipeline at all, a clear point for ChatAndBuild. Lovable counters with confirmed element-level editing, letting you click a piece of the page and adjust it, which ChatAndBuild does not address. Lovable's output stack, React and TypeScript, is also more fully documented than ChatAndBuild's Vite based scaffolding where React is only implied, and Lovable confirms versioning and rollback while ChatAndBuild leaves that unaddressed. Both support collaboration. With the two tools splitting the top two decisive points and Lovable ahead on editing precision, stack clarity, and rollback, Lovable is the stronger overall pick for polishing a design-driven build.

ChatAndBuild vs Lovable: common questions

Is ChatAndBuild cheaper than Lovable?+

Yes. ChatAndBuild's paid plan starts at $20/mo against Lovable's $25/mo, and the gap holds even against Lovable's annual rate of $21/mo. ChatAndBuild's Team plan is also a flat $30/mo, while Lovable's Business plan starts at $50/mo for 100 credits. ChatAndBuild is the cheaper option at every published tier.

ChatAndBuild vs Lovable: which is better for beginners?+

Lovable, on balance. Its agent mode builds autonomously and its element-level editing lets you click a piece of the app and fix it without touching code, capabilities ChatAndBuild does not publish. ChatAndBuild does support Figma import and undercuts on price at $20/mo against Lovable's $25/mo, but Lovable's free plan renews 5 build credits a day up to 30 a month, better for learning than ChatAndBuild's 5 prompts for life.

Does ChatAndBuild or Lovable let me export my code and self-host it?+

Lovable publishes a full project code export and confirms you can self-host the exported app on your own infrastructure. ChatAndBuild does not state a code export feature; its documented route for code to leave the platform is a bidirectional GitHub sync, the same sync type Lovable also offers.

Is ChatAndBuild or Lovable better for a team that needs SSO?+

Lovable offers SSO on its Enterprise plan, giving larger teams a path to single sign-on even though it is gated to the top tier. ChatAndBuild does not publish an SSO option at any plan level, so teams that require it should check Lovable first.

Does ChatAndBuild use credits like Lovable does?+

No. ChatAndBuild bills as a flat monthly fee for unlimited prompts on its paid plans, not a credit system. Lovable meters usage in credits, with unused monthly credits rolling over as long as the subscription stays active, a different pricing model entirely.

Does my Lovable app keep working if I cancel my subscription?+

Lovable states that published apps generally remain accessible and viewable to visitors even after you cancel your subscription, so an app you already shipped does not simply disappear.

Is ChatAndBuild a solid alternative to Lovable for GitHub based workflows?+

Yes on this point specifically. Both ChatAndBuild and Lovable support a bidirectional GitHub sync, meaning changes pushed from the builder and changes made in GitHub can flow both ways, so a GitHub-centric workflow is available on either tool.

Does ChatAndBuild or Lovable offer regional data hosting?+

Lovable offers regional hosting through Lovable Cloud, including EU options, for teams with data residency needs. ChatAndBuild does not publish any data residency details, so teams with location requirements have more to go on with Lovable.

Does ChatAndBuild train its AI on my prompts and code?+

ChatAndBuild states it uses aggregated and de-identified usage data to maintain and improve its services and AI features, and it offers an opt out of having personal data used for AI model training.

Best ChatAndBuild alternatives →Best Lovable alternatives →

When neither is right: see the full AI app builders lineup →

If you sign up through links on this page, vsref may earn a commission; programs exist on both sides of most comparisons, and commissions never change verdicts. How we make money