# a0.dev vs Rork

> a0.dev vs Rork: Rork is our pick, leading for beginners and developers. They split on output stack and backend model. Verified August 2026.

![a0.dev logo](https://www.versusref.com/logos/a0-dev.png) ![Rork logo](https://www.versusref.com/logos/rork.png)

Both AI app builders platforms, a0.dev (Mobile-first prompt-to-app builder aimed at monetizable indie apps ("Build mobile apps. Make money.")) and Rork (Mobile-first prompt-to-native-app builder for indie app founders) go head to head here. Start with the bottom line, then the verified fact table and real production costs.

AI app builders platforms · 14 facts compared · all sourced · pricing verified Aug 31, 2026

## Bottom line

Rork wins the overall comparison by leading on disclosed pricing and delivery across most use cases. Its free plan caps usage at 5 credits per day and its cheapest paid plan is $20/mo, terms a0.dev never publishes, deciding both the beginners and free-plan comparisons. For developers, Rork's full project code export and bidirectional GitHub sync gave it a working code path a0.dev does not confirm. Rork's native Swift/SwiftUI and Kotlin/Compose stack also beat a0.dev's React Native layer for mobile builds, and its Postgres backend with row-level security edged ahead for internal tools. Self-hosting and UI design ended in ties since neither publishes the deciding facts there.

## Verdict summary

| Use case | Winner | Why |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Beginners | Rork | Both a0.dev and Rork offer an autonomous agent mode that builds the app for you, so that starting point is a wash. |
| Developers | Rork | For engineers who want to scaffold fast and then own the code, full code export and two-way GitHub sync are the hard filter here. |
| Free Plans | Rork | For builders who want to try before paying, what actually gets disclosed matters as much as the numbers themselves. |
| Internal Tools | Rork | Ops teams building internal dashboards need a real data backend most, and this is one of the few things both sides describe. |
| Mobile Apps | Rork | Both a0.dev and Rork claim native mobile output, so that alone does not separate them. |
| Self-Hosted | Tie | This use case is about running the builder itself locally, not just its output. |
| UI Design | Tie | Designers going from a Figma file or a screenshot to a working front end care most about how faithfully that import translates and how much can be tweaked without a prompt. |

## a0.dev vs Rork: head-to-head facts

| Fact | a0.dev | Rork | Verified |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Metering unit | credits ([source](https://a0.dev/pricing)) | credits ([source](https://docs.rork.com/billing/build-credits-vs-cloud-credits.md)) | Aug 31 |
| What the free plan caps | n/a | 5 credits/day ([source](https://docs.rork.com/introduction/subscriptions.md)) | Aug 31 |
| Cheapest paid plan (monthly) | n/a | $20 ([source](https://docs.rork.com/introduction/subscriptions.md)) | Aug 31 |
| Metering pool at entry plan | n/a | 100 build credits/mo ([source](https://docs.rork.com/introduction/subscriptions.md)) | Aug 31 |
| Output stack | React Native (Expo-managed) ([source](https://docs.a0.dev/development/testing/native-build-testing.md)) | Native: Swift/SwiftUI (iOS), Kotlin/Compose (Android) ([source](https://docs.rork.com/swift-vs-react-native/whats-the-difference.md)) | Aug 31 |
| Backend model | Built-in database support powered by Convex or Supabase ([source](https://a0.dev/)) | Rork Cloud (built-in Postgres DB + row-level security + E... ([source](https://docs.rork.com/backend/rork-cloud.md)) | Aug 31 |
| Code export | n/a | full project ([source](https://docs.rork.com/faq/code-export.md)) | Aug 31 |
| GitHub sync | n/a | bidirectional ([source](https://docs.rork.com/import/import-from-github.md)) | Aug 31 |
| Self-host the output | n/a | ✓  Yes ([source](https://docs.rork.com/swift-vs-react-native/whats-the-difference.md)) | Aug 31 |
| Mobile output | native ([source](https://a0.dev/)) | native ([source](https://docs.rork.com/swift-vs-react-native/whats-the-difference.md)) | Aug 31 |
| Agent mode (autonomous multi-step builds) | ✓  Yes ([source](https://docs.a0.dev/agent-guide/overview.md)) | ✓  Yes ([source](https://rork.com/)) | Aug 31 |

## a0.dev vs Rork pricing: true cost at 3 usage tiers

True monthly cost at 3 builder profiles: weekend prototyper (1 app, ~40 edit prompts/mo), active builder (2-3 apps, ~250 edit prompts/mo), small team (5 seats, continuous). Vendors with a published per-action cost resolve to a real $/mo; effort-based or unpublished metering renders honestly as "metered - conversion not published" rather than a guess. Open-source/local tools show license + BYO-API-key cost, never $0.

| Volume | Buyer | a0.dev | Rork | Note |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 1 app, ~40 edit prompts/mo | Weekend prototyper | Not published | $20/mo, 100 build credits/mo included - metered, conversion not published | A single side project, built once and lightly iterated on over a weekend or two a month. |
| 2-3 apps, ~250 edit prompts/mo | Active builder | Not published | $20/mo, 100 build credits/mo included - metered, conversion not published | Several projects in flight at once with a steady daily edit cadence - the volume where a credit pool that looked generous at signup starts to run out. |
| 5 seats, continuous builds | Small team | Not published | $20/mo, 100 build credits/mo included - metered, conversion not published | A 5-person team building continuously. Priced off each vendor's own published team/business plan, not a per-seat guess - pooled-credit workspaces (Lovable, Rocket) do not simply multiply the solo price by seat count, so a tool with no published flat team rate renders honestly as not published rather than an invented multiply. |

## a0.dev vs Rork: verdicts by use case

### Beginners → Rork

Both a0.dev and Rork offer an autonomous agent mode that builds the app for you, so that starting point is a wash. Where they differ is disclosure: Rork states its free plan caps builders at 5 credits per day and its cheapest paid plan runs $20/mo, giving a beginner a clear picture of what trying it costs. a0.dev does not publish what its free plan caps or what a paid plan costs, leaving a newcomer to guess before committing. For someone who has never shipped an app and wants a known free tier to learn on, that gap in disclosure tips the decision toward Rork.

### Developers → Rork

For engineers who want to scaffold fast and then own the code, full code export and two-way GitHub sync are the hard filter here. Rork provides full project code export and bidirectional GitHub sync, and confirms its output can be self-hosted. a0.dev does not publish a code export option or a GitHub sync capability at all, leaving no confirmed way to take the generated project and work on it independently. Both describe a database backend, but that only matters once the code is actually portable. Since Rork clears the hard filter and a0.dev does not disclose meeting it, Rork wins clearly.

### Free Plans → Rork

For builders who want to try before paying, what actually gets disclosed matters as much as the numbers themselves. Rork states its free plan caps usage at 5 credits per day, its cheapest paid plan is $20/mo, and unused credits do not roll over. a0.dev does not publish any of these figures, so a builder cannot compare what the free tier caps or what the first paid step costs. Even though Rork's own free allowance is modest and credits expire unused, at least the terms are known before anyone commits.

### Internal Tools → Rork

Ops teams building internal dashboards need a real data backend most, and this is one of the few things both sides describe. a0.dev says its backend is powered by Convex or Supabase. Rork's Rork Cloud is a built-in Postgres database with row-level security, giving IT a documented way to gate data by role. Integrations, built-in auth, and SSO are not disclosed for either tool, so those cannot break the tie. On the one backend detail that is actually confirmed and touches access control, Rork edges ahead, though the gap is not wide given how much else about each tool's admin-panel fit remains unknown.

### Mobile Apps → Rork

Both a0.dev and Rork claim native mobile output, so that alone does not separate them. The framework underneath does: Rork's stack is true native code, Swift/SwiftUI on iOS and Kotlin/Compose on Android, while a0.dev's is React Native on Expo, a cross-platform layer rather than fully native code per platform. Rork also confirms its generated apps can be self-hosted, a path a0.dev does not disclose. For builders targeting a phone rather than a browser tab, the fully native stack and the self-hosting confirmation give Rork the edge, even though both start from the same native output claim.

### Self-Hosted → Tie

This use case is about running the builder itself locally, not just its output. Neither a0.dev nor Rork publishes whether it runs offline, what license it ships under, or whether you can bring your own API keys instead of paying a subscription. Both are metered the same way instead, through credits, pointing to a hosted, credit-billed product rather than a local-first tool. Rork does confirm its generated apps can be self-hosted, but that covers the output, not the builder someone would want to run on their own machine. With the decisive facts absent for both, this is a tie.

### UI Design → Tie

Designers going from a Figma file or a screenshot to a working front end care most about how faithfully that import translates and how much can be tweaked without a prompt. Neither a0.dev nor Rork publishes a design import capability or element-level editing, so neither claim can be checked on the two things that matter most here. The one difference on record is the output stack, React Native on Expo for a0.dev versus native Swift/SwiftUI and Kotlin/Compose for Rork, but that speaks to the framework, not to import fidelity or in-app editing. Without data on the deciding attributes for either tool, this is a tie.

## a0.dev vs Rork: common questions

### Is a0.dev cheaper than Rork?

a0.dev does not publish a price for its paid plans, so there is no way to confirm whether it costs less than Rork. Rork's cheapest paid plan is $20/mo, with a free tier capped at 5 credits per day. Without published pricing from a0.dev, a direct cost comparison is not possible.

### a0.dev vs Rork: which is better for beginners?

Rork is the better choice for beginners. Both offer an autonomous agent that builds through chat, but only Rork publishes what a newcomer needs to know before starting: a free plan capped at 5 credits per day and a cheapest paid plan of $20/mo. a0.dev does not publish its free plan cap or its paid pricing, leaving a first-time builder without a clear cost picture.

### Does a0.dev or Rork have a real GitHub sync?

Rork publishes bidirectional GitHub sync, so changes made in the app and in your own repository move both ways. a0.dev does not publish a GitHub sync feature, so there is no confirmed two-way path between the two.

### Is a0.dev or Rork better for building native mobile apps?

Both claim native mobile output. Rork's stack is true native code, Swift/SwiftUI on iOS and Kotlin/Compose on Android. a0.dev's stack is React Native on Expo, a cross-platform layer rather than fully native code per platform.

### Can I export the full project code from a0.dev or Rork?

Rork publishes full project code export. a0.dev does not publish a code export option, so there is no confirmed way to take the generated project outside the platform.

### What does Rork's free plan include?

Rork's free plan caps usage at 5 credits per day. Its cheapest paid plan is $20/mo with a pool of 100 build credits per month, and unused credits do not roll over.

### How does Rork price extra usage beyond the monthly plan?

Rork sells overage as cloud credit top-ups in increments from $5 to $200 once the monthly pool of 100 build credits runs out.

### What backend does a0.dev use?

a0.dev says its backend is powered by Convex or Supabase for built-in database support.

### Does Rork keep data in the United States?

Rork states its data residency is US-based.

Source: https://www.versusref.com/app-builders/a0-dev-vs-rork/
